How much could your business save? Find out now!
Or, you can call us on: 0800 411 8830

Will review mean a reduction in business rates for small businesses?


Our recent survey revealed that 34% of small business owners want a reduction in business rates.

The government announced a full review of business rates in the budget this week. The review was launched earlier in the week by the Chief Secretary to the Treasury Danny Alexander.

The review could change the way businesses in England pay the tax – business rates are devolved within the UK so Wales and Scotland can set their own rates. A recent article on Business Buzz looks at what the business rate review means for small businesses.

Business rates are paid each year on around 1.8 million properties. Introduced in 1990 they are paid by occupiers of non-domestic properties such as shops, offices and guest houses.

We won’t know the results of the review until the time of the next budget in 2016. But we know that it will look at how the current system is structured and examine the different ways properties are used by businesses. It will investigate how the present system could be up-dated to ensure the current value of properties is reflected in how much businesses pay.

At the launch Danny Alexander said: “Our system of business rates was created nearly 30 years ago. Since that time, the worlds of commerce and industry have changed beyond recognition.”

He said the government had taken steps to help businesses by capping rates and bringing in relief for small businesses. He said “..now the time has come for a radical review of this important tax. We want to ensure the business rates system is fair, efficient and effective.”

In December the government said it would bring in a package worth £1 billion to help reduce the cost of business rates in 2015-16. The package will provide help to small businesses.

From the beginning of April this year the government will:

  • increase help for the high street by increasing the business rate discount for smaller retail premises with a rateable value of £50,000 or below to £1,500 to 31 March 2016. This will benefit around 300,000 shops, pubs, cafes and restaurants
  • double small business rate relief for another year to 31 March 2016. This will provide support for some of the smallest businesses (around 575,000). It will also mean that around 385,000 small businesses pay no rates at all
  • cap the rise in the business rates multiplier at 2% which will benefit all businesses
  • extend transitional rate relief. This will provide support to small businesses facing large increases in their bill as a result of the end of transition a rate relief

 

Labour will cut and freeze business rates

In response to the review, the Labour party said if it won the next election, it would cut and then freeze business rates for around 1.5 million small business properties. Labour’s shadow exchequer secretary to the treasury Shabana Mahmood said: “Britain’s businesses need more than just a re-announced review. Labour will take immediate action by cutting and then freezing business rates for 1.5 million small business properties.”

The current system is outmoded

The director general of the CBI, John Cridland said: “The current system of business rates is outmoded, clunky and regressive and holding back the high street. That’s why we’ve been calling for a wholesale review of the system.”

He said the measures which come into force in April will help to reduce the pressure on “hard-pressed retailers.”

But he said the review provided an opportunity to make further changes. He said the CBI would be “making the case for removing the smallest firms from paying business rates completely, linking rates to CPI (Consumer Price Index) rather than RPI (Retail Price Index) and introducing more frequent valuations.” He added that “This would go a long way to achieving a more competitive business rates regime that incentivises business investment and supports the high street.”

You can find out more about what small business owners want from the forthcoming general election in our Business Buzz section and find out what the recent budget means for your business.

Related Articles

Business-electricity-coal-power-to-end-by-2023-big-coal-stockpile-at-sunrise

Energy News 16/06/2017

Michael Gove is appointed energy secretary, suppliers continue to fall short on digital offerings and global e...

Read More
plasma-globe-compare-business-electricity

Supplier Guide: Dual Energy

The lowdown on one of our top suppliers - Dual Energy. Dual Energy was established in 2009 as a low-cost alter...

Read More
lightbulb

What should I do if I get behind on my business energy bills?

Falling behind on energy bills is something that can happen to any business. Unfortunately, businesses have le...

Read More
Excellent, 9.7 / 10

Very easy

"Very easy. Bea Luseni very efficient & knowledgeable."

This review was posted by Alan Duffy on the 31st of March 2017

Super helpful and easy to work with

"Recommend this company in a heartbeat - Nicole Borneuf was super easy to talk to, was not pushy in the slightest, very helpful and replied with all my questions very professionally and did all she could to help. I had to deal with a few companies to sort my business energy out, all but Nicole were too pushy for my liking and I refused to follow through with them. Thank Nicole - you are a credit to your company, thank you for making the stressful energy change so easy."

This review was posted by Mia Drew on the 29th of March 2017

An Extremely Competent Company

"Switch my business has not only helped my SME secure a good energy deal for the second year running but Jessica swiftly found a alternative supplier for me when I was let down on the day of switching by the new contractual provider I had chosen some 4 months previously. Being suddenly out of contract and without provider is everyone's energy nightmare. Greatest thanks."

This review was posted by S McMillan on the 29th of March 2017

Helpful, friendly and we saved lots of money!

"Jessica Purnell was helpful and friendly, she made the whole process easy and simple AND we saved lots of money thanks Jess"

This review was posted by Melanie Baker on the 23rd of March 2017

Quick & Easy

"Kabibi was very helpful and the whole process was very efficient. The one small reservation I had was that I was phoned up by Kabibi almost immediately having received my online quote - which wasn't enough time for me to finish reading the quotes! Fortunately she was able to assist me in a greater savings on both Gas & Electricity, and so as long as the switchover is seamless I will remain very happy with the service."

This review was posted by Amanda Brown on the 21st of March 2017