How much could your business save?Find out now!
Or, you can call us on:0800 411 8830

Will review mean a reduction in business rates for small businesses?


Our recent survey revealed that 34% of small business owners want a reduction in business rates.

The government announced a full review of business rates in the budget this week. The review was launched earlier in the week by the Chief Secretary to the Treasury Danny Alexander.

The review could change the way businesses in England pay the tax – business rates are devolved within the UK so Wales and Scotland can set their own rates. A recent article on Business Buzz looks at what the business rate review means for small businesses.

Business rates are paid each year on around 1.8 million properties. Introduced in 1990 they are paid by occupiers of non-domestic properties such as shops, offices and guest houses.

We won’t know the results of the review until the time of the next budget in 2016. But we know that it will look at how the current system is structured and examine the different ways properties are used by businesses. It will investigate how the present system could be up-dated to ensure the current value of properties is reflected in how much businesses pay.

At the launch Danny Alexander said: “Our system of business rates was created nearly 30 years ago. Since that time, the worlds of commerce and industry have changed beyond recognition.”

He said the government had taken steps to help businesses by capping rates and bringing in relief for small businesses. He said “..now the time has come for a radical review of this important tax. We want to ensure the business rates system is fair, efficient and effective.”

In December the government said it would bring in a package worth £1 billion to help reduce the cost of business rates in 2015-16. The package will provide help to small businesses.

From the beginning of April this year the government will:

  • increase help for the high street by increasing the business rate discount for smaller retail premises with a rateable value of £50,000 or below to £1,500 to 31 March 2016. This will benefit around 300,000 shops, pubs, cafes and restaurants
  • double small business rate relief for another year to 31 March 2016. This will provide support for some of the smallest businesses (around 575,000). It will also mean that around 385,000 small businesses pay no rates at all
  • cap the rise in the business rates multiplier at 2% which will benefit all businesses
  • extend transitional rate relief. This will provide support to small businesses facing large increases in their bill as a result of the end of transition a rate relief

 

Labour will cut and freeze business rates

In response to the review, the Labour party said if it won the next election, it would cut and then freeze business rates for around 1.5 million small business properties. Labour’s shadow exchequer secretary to the treasury Shabana Mahmood said: “Britain’s businesses need more than just a re-announced review. Labour will take immediate action by cutting and then freezing business rates for 1.5 million small business properties.”

The current system is outmoded

The director general of the CBI, John Cridland said: “The current system of business rates is outmoded, clunky and regressive and holding back the high street. That’s why we’ve been calling for a wholesale review of the system.”

He said the measures which come into force in April will help to reduce the pressure on “hard-pressed retailers.”

But he said the review provided an opportunity to make further changes. He said the CBI would be “making the case for removing the smallest firms from paying business rates completely, linking rates to CPI (Consumer Price Index) rather than RPI (Retail Price Index) and introducing more frequent valuations.” He added that “This would go a long way to achieving a more competitive business rates regime that incentivises business investment and supports the high street.”

You can find out more about what small business owners want from the forthcoming general election in our Business Buzz section and find out what the recent budget means for your business.

Related Articles

the week's energy news

The Week’s Top Energy News – 02/12/2016

The Christmas season has well and truly begun and, in true business style, you’ll either be incredibly b...

Read More
how to motivate your team

21 easy ways to motivate your team

Being a manager is tough, and understanding how to motivate staff isn’t necessarily straight forward. It...

Read More
small business santa

Could you win our small business Santa competition?

We don’t know about you but we are feeling very Christmassy right now. Carols on the stereo, mince pies for ...

Read More
Excellent, 9.5 / 10

Fixed up in no time!

"I was contacted by Jonathan Burgess after making an inquiry on line, who was very informative in finding me the best deal for my business. There was no pressure selling,only information given to assist me in making an informed decision. There was ample opportunity during the process to question or pull out if need be. Everything was made clear,and would definitely recommend others using the service."

This review was posted by john kril on the 05th of September 2016

Brilliant Service

"I was contacted by Aaron Gallagher after visiting SwitchMyBusiness.com. He was very helpful and knew a lot about the different contracts available but did not push me into an instant decision. Once our Directors had decided on the contract they wanted I called Aaron on his direct line and arranged our new contract. Aaron was at all times friendly and professional, completely different to other companies who contacted me about our renewal who were arrogant and pushy. Would recommend SwitchMyBusiness to anybody who is looking to switch their energy."

This review was posted by Debbie on the 08th of September 2016

First Class Service

"I spoke with Mark Weeks today to get quotes for my business energy and he was extremely helpful. He talked me through the process clearly and also got me better prices than I could have done myself. Comparison sites are just so complicated and he did all the "leg work" for me. Very pleased with his assistance and would recommend SwitchmyBusiness to any of my friends and business acquaintances."

This review was posted by Debbie Andrew on the 08th of September 2016

Excellent

"Jonathan Burgess rang me back straight away and took me through my business switch. Polite thorough and easy to understand. Highly recommend to anyone looking to save money and switch business energy accounts. Thank you."

This review was posted by Suzanne Richmond on the 09th of September 2016

Happy

"Jonathan Burgess did a great job of helping me through switching my business with both gas and electric. He was very thorough ,clear spoken and a pleasure to speak to today. I would recommend anyone to use this service"

This review was posted by Louise holman on the 09th of September 2016